Quick Python Book, 2nd Edition

Book project complete

I’ve finally finished a book project – The Quick Python Book, 2nd ed. from Manning Publications was published as an ebook last week and will be available in traditional dead tree format in mid-January.

QPB had been selling steadily for the Manning folks for years, since it came out in 2000 and they wanted it updated for Python 3.x. Since the original authors weren’t available, I got the job.

It was billed as a quick and easy job, and it was probably easier than writing from scratch, but revising a programming book from version 1.5 of Python to version 3.x was a lot harder than I’d expected. On the other hand, I also learned much more about Python 3 than I’d expected. Suffice to say I’m a complete convert and am impatient for everyone to get their libraries converted so we can move to Python 3 everywhere.

I also got a real feel for the tech book production process. I really think that Manning’s process is very sound and the people I worked with were first rate. Unlike my ill-fated project with O’Reilly, this was tolerable and my efforts to get things done on schedule were appreciated.

Anyway, my goal now is to do some screencasts to help publicize the book. Since I’ve never done any video editing before, this will take a little learning as well.

I also have a couple of other Python projects in the works which I’ll now be spending my time on – more about those soon.

 

3 Responses to Quick Python Book, 2nd Edition

  1. Sun Yi says:

    I have the first version of this book, but for some weird reason I can’t find it on Amazon. Although the older version is only still being advertised.

    I will have to order directly from Manning instead.

  2. If you are in the UK, here is the Amazon link for UK users. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Quick-Python-Book-activemq/dp/193518220X

    Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

